A Loving Month

As we welcome February, our spotlight this month will be on love. As you’ll see our conversation will be examining more than romantic love and a far cry from a diaper wearing cherub shooting arrows willy-nilly.

More than likely not only a bold word, Love is the strongest of all positive emotions. That’s why on this  edition of “Becoming Today” we begin an exploration of why love being directed towards yourself, another individual, a group of people, or even all humanity is of utmost importance. 

First a few questions for you.

Do you value yourself?

Do you find yourself worthy of change, growth and “Becoming”

You should. 

If not; you’ll need to address why you do not feel that way. It’s the first step in opening yourself to both receiving love and becoming a more loving person.

Begin by changing what you say about yourself and redefine the vision for your future. You can not live in the trauma of your past or your circumstances nor the challenges of others and expect change to come. You are worthy of love and “Becoming”.

If you are having trouble accepting that, then our discussion here on “Becoming Today” is definitely for you as we’ll examine accepting your value and loving yourself.

Much of “Becoming” involves embracing the need for change, it is the only way in which we can truly grow, develop and realize our potentials.  Life is a process. A repetitive one. We learn, grow, become then question, learn, grow and continue “Becoming”.

Accepting our strengths rather than empowering our perceived weaknesses, accepting our unlimited potential rather than self imposing limitations.

Our reality is one of always “Becoming”…. Restating our shared definition from Day One of this project:  ‘’the process of coming to be something or of passing into a state”. Coming to be always, “Becoming”. Growing, developing and shifting into an attitude and daily practice of always, “Becoming”.

That is quite simply the essence behind, “Becoming Today”.  Now getting there requires planning, action and growth.

Accepting yourself and believing that you are worthy is an integral part of growth. Improving your self esteem is about far more than just feeling good at the present moment.

Love is so powerful because it transforms and evolves throughout the course of our experiences and lifetimes. What I’m talking about includes, not only being loving towards ourselves, but also accepting the love of others and sharing love with others, plus through loving God.

The love of God purifies our heart, fueling transformation and teaching us self-sacrifice. The nature of all religions is opening ourselves to the Love of God, and is the foundation of all the sacred teachings.

So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:13 (ESV)

The word “love” is mentioned on almost every page of the English Bible. Depending upon the translation you can find the topic addressed multiple times for good reason. When something is important it bears repeating.

So let’s examine and ponder these numbers for a moment:

In the King James Version, love is mentioned 310 times.

In the New American Standard Version, love is discussed 348 times.

In the New Revised Standard Version, there are 538 instances of the word 

And “love” In the New International Version, is discussed 551 times.

Perhaps now you’ll agree that ‘The Greatest of These Is…Love’. 

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

1 Corinthians 13:4-5(NIV)

Love is indeed patient and kind. In the scriptures, love is what unites people. Brings groups  together against hate and dishonesty.It is what enables forgiveness and restores confidence.

C.S .Lewis, some six decades ago, in a then controversial book outlined “The Four Loves”. Over the next few days we’ll look at each of these four types of love and how they work to ensure we are always being “Becoming”.

Having an understanding of the differing types of love will allow us to make informed decisions and hopefully better choices. Self-enhancement involves making a decision. You make the choice to have a  positive rather than negative self-view. 

As we’ve talked about previously, making a choice involves taking multiple steps. 

First to decide you want to do something. Then to focus on what change is necessary, then committing to it. Before you then take action to actually do it.

Just a good intention or giving lip service to an idea, will not make it so. You have to complete the task, do all the hard work and then harvest the benefits. If you give up along the process then you will reap what you have sown.

Love is perhaps the greatest of all emotions, feelings, expressions, states, attitudes and basis for our personal development and our shared path of “Becoming Today”.

Seek to express and accept more love in your life. 

Take care of yourself.  Self care not only of the mind, but also the body and soul.

Use Positive Affirming statements. Treat yourself lovingly and always be encouraging. Delaye you “can” and you “will”.

Forgive yourself.  If you’ve made a mistake, remember it’s not permanent. You need to readjust to move past that moment in time and create the next in abundance. 

Spend time with people who make you happy. Those who inspire or uplift you. Don’t waste time on negative or fake people.

Choose Love. Choose a Loving Life. 

My prayer for you today is that you are consistently an authentic loving nature. Find it, unleash it, share it, always be “Becoming” loving and nurturing. A lack of love is of our own creation, co- create an attitude of love rather than lack.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: